Getting ready to reinstall Windows 7

I recently discovered I had some issues on my Windows box, which is currently my most used box. For the most part there are small issues, like a software crash here and there. But I recently got an undefined Windows message (“Preparing security options”) and I tried to research it, and my results were undefined. That, combined with Chrome coming out in 64 bits (meaning I could drop 32 bit Java completely), I decided it was time, after more than 2 years of not reformatting my box at all (which is a personal best for me, I usually end up having to do this once per year).

I am one of the paranoid types. For me, a complete format means wiping the MBR clean, it means wiping any secondary drive clean (I have 2 secondaries at the moment), and it means not copying over a single file from my original system. This is also a part of my own challenge, as to how I will be able to bring my configs over, on a Windows system, and how long it takes me to get everything running as I would like it.

For the preparing part, I have somewhat exotic hardware. I am one of the few guys actually rocking a soundcard on my desktop. Why? Simply put, it enhances my audio experience 10 fold. I am running a NAD C390DD digital amp, with 2x Bowers & Wilkins CM9 speakers, meaning I have a hefty speaker system. On top of that, I have a Soundblaster ZxR sound card, running through optical out to my amp (if you are looking at something similar, please note that using this setup, you will experience some audio delay, and you will just have to learn to live it). The problem with running this hardware, is that you spend some time tweaking it, and I have my eq set to a point where I am reasonably happy with it. However, this was the highly visible item for me, as this was the first item I was worried about. So I made a list.

Second thing, I use Mumble for gaming. I am running my own (private) server, which me and my friends are using when playing co op games. Funny thing is, I don’t know the IP of this, simply because I never have to input it. I run Mumble and that is it. Additionally, with Mumble I had some issues going on getting my microphone up to par, and running as it should. These settings I no longer remember and I have to rediscover.

Third thing, is my Steam folder. I probably have 100 – 500 GB worth of games int here, on top of the save files I have in my %appdata% folder. For this, I am mostly covered, as Steam is running Steam cloud. But, I already am running Steam on my Linux box, and the saves are not syncing across my different boxes. Most prominently, is my FTL saves. This is a game I play on both boxes, and each box have their unique save. This has me worried, as this might mean Steam will not sync unless it thinks it is the same computer. I will have to research this point a bit more, but hopefully the cloud service isn’t completely useless.

Finally, it is the rest of my hardware. I need drivers for pretty much everthing. I run 2 Logitech mouses (MX Revolution for day to day use, G700 for gaming, G930 headset for gaming etc). Even though MIcrosoft recently have included in drivers in Windows Update, the best bet is still to get them from the vendor.

CONCLUSION:
As I started, I was leaning towards dreading to wipe my Windows box, but in all honesty, Windows 7 has treated me well over the years. Yes, some areas it is still crap compared to Linux, especialy in the respect that it is decentralized to the fact that you are completely dependent on knowing exactly what hardware you are running before you move. But what surprised me the most, I have been running a Windows box for over 2 years, without any major issues, without anything to complain about, and currently I am wiping because I have a vague impression that I am infected. Also, because SSD’s are cheaper now, and I found it my heart to justify buying a 1 TB one..

Leave a comment