Manjaro: Why I hate Fedora XFCE spin

Recently I bought a new desktop. It is a lowend desktop, with a Pentium CPU (not the i7 I am used to, at all), dual core, 8 gigs of RAM (more than enough for Linux, though not Windows), and a shitty old GeForce card (we are talking 200 series here).

My build in details:

CPU: Intel Pentium G4400
RAM: 8GB DDR, cheapest I could get
Video: Geforce GTS250
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H270N WiFi

Rest doesn’t really matter. First off, I got this build in early 2017, which meant the drivers for the onboard graphics card were severely lacking, which is why I dug out whatever old card that was laying about. Unfortunately, as it is now, noveau is supporting the graphics card better than the official nVida proprietary driver. This is not the point of this post though. At first, I installed Fedora 25, simply because it was more or less the only thing I was able to run consistently on my rig. Lets admit, I did a weak build, but this build is simply to watch youtube, netflix and play spotify. It is not meant to run any hard stuff. First off, the motherboard built in audio, it never felt right in Fedora. I tried to install EQ for pulseaudio, but that just made matters worse.

My only reason for running Fedora was the lack of support of the built in Intel Graphics card for the motherboard. Once I got the nVidia card installed, the world opened and I went straight for Manjaro. And to be honest, what is not to love about it? It is Arch Linux, with a beautiful theme, running XFCE, and a rolling release. Even has AUR support built in. Sound is working better, but this might just be the newer kernel, faster response times, and even every app I need (Google Chrome for Netflix, Spotify and openVPN GUI) is pre installed and no config. Only problem I have is Twitch is running at 100% CPU, but easily solved by installing an app for native streaming instead of using a browser and Flash.

Leave a comment