Disabling the touchpad on Ubuntu on a Dell XPS12

One of my most loved features of some Touchpad drivers are “Disable when another pointing device is connected”. I have been trying for a while to get the same thing running on my XPS, as the touchpad is so big and the keyboard so small, it is almost always an annoyance when you accidentally touch it. Well, today I found a quick solution, albeit a manual one. I have tried GPointing Device Settings, Touchpad Indicator and more, with no success. The configuration tool in Ubuntu only lets me do some tweaks to speeds etc, but not disable the device. Recently it has annoyed me so much that I went the terminal route and wanted to disable it manually with X11. Hit read more if you want the commands.
Simply put, you first need to find the device name. You find that by running this command:

xinput list

On my computer it is a bit treacherous, as there are two names for the touchpad, one of them is the right one and not so easy to guess it is. What I get is this:

⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ ROCCAT ROCCAT Kone Pure id=9 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ ATML1000:00 03EB:842F id=12 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ PS/2 Synaptics TouchPad id=16 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ DLL05E3:01 06CB:2734 id=13 [slave pointer (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Video Bus id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Power Button id=8 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ ROCCAT ROCCAT Kone Pure id=10 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Integrated Webcam id=11 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=14 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Dell WMI hotkeys id=15 [slave keyboard (3)]

This is with a Razor mouse connected as well (ROCCAT KONE), but the correct name is the DLL05E3:01 06CB:2734, but on yours it might be different. Be sure to identify the correct one. So in order to disable it, I just run this command:

xinput –set-prop “DLL05E3:01 06CB:2734” “Device Enabled” 0

To enable it again, you just run this command:

xinput –set-prop “DLL05E3:01 06CB:2734” “Device Enabled” 1

While this isnt the most pretty solution, it works and is fairly easy to maintain. I just copy pasted the command in to a text document, so I can easily copy it over to a terminal window. For quick reference, if you want to paste in to a terminal window, just hit Shift+Ins, not Ctrl+V.

Leave a comment